ABC Travelling Fellowship


The ABC Travelling Fellowship is an educational exchange shared by a group of young orthopaedic surgeons selected by the American, British, Canadian, New Zealand, Australian and South African orthopaedic associations. The Fellowship was conceived by Dr. R.I. Harris of Toronto, Ontario during his presidency of the American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) in 1948.

General Information

The tour begins in the Spring of every odd year (i.e. 2017, 2019, 2021 etc.). During the even-numbered years (i.e. 2016, 2018, 2020 etc.), overseas Fellows visit North America, while Fellows from the United States and Canada tour abroad during the odd-numbered years (i.e. 2017, 2019, 2021 etc.). Fellows from the US and Canada will always visit Great Britain, but will alternate Australia and New Zealand with South Africa during their tour as ABC Fellows.

Two (2) Canadian candidates are selected by the COA’s Exchange Fellowships Committee for the tour.
Five (5) American candidates are selected by the American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) for the same tour.

Application Deadline

The deadline for applications from Canadian candidates is MAY 1 of every EVEN year (i.e. 2016, 2018, 2020 etc.).

Travel Diary

Past Fellows

Travelling Fellowships