Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS)


To be the leading musculoskeletal research society in Canada.



Champion musculoskeletal research through peer-reviewed publications, scientific meetings, technology development and multimedia initiatives.


Facilitate and support interdisciplinary collaborative research between scientists and clinicians in related fields of orthopaedics such as biomaterials, biomechanics, biomedical engineering, developmental and stem cell biology.

Foster strong relationships with other musculoskeletal research societies in Canada, and orthopaedic research societies worldwide.


Support excellence in musculoskeletal research through recognition, knowledge translation and funding initiatives.


Inspire the pursuit of musculoskeletal research in scientists and clinicians in training.

CORS Programs

The CORS Annual Meeting is held in conjunction with the COA Annual Meeting.

In 1994, a lectureship was named in honour of CORS founder, Dr. Ian Macnab. The first lecture was delivered by Dr. Edward H. Simmons at the CORS Annual Meeting that was held in Winnipeg that same year. The lectureship is still continued today.

The CORS Executive reviews the Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation’s orthopaedic research grant applications (including the J. Edouard Samson Award), and select the recipient of the CORS Founders’ Medal (most outstanding paper presented at a CORS meeting).


The Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS) was founded on June 18, 1966 in Banff, Alberta by a small group of members of the Canadian Orthopaedic Association.

Those present were: Dr. W.G. DeHaas of Calgary, Dr. M. Emery of Edmonton, Dr. C.A. Laurin of Montreal, Dr. I. Macnab of Toronto, Dr. J. Robichon of Ottawa, Dr. E.H. Simmons of Toronto, Dr. W.J. Thompson of Vancouver, Dr. A. Trias of Halifax and Dr. H. Uhthoff of Montreal. Dr. Ian Macnab was elected as the founding President at the first CORS meeting held in 1967.

The purpose of the proposed society was to further the advancement of orthopaedic surgery in Canada by stimulation of orthopaedic research. To realize this, the new society aimed to become fully aware of all the types of orthopaedic research in progress in Canada. Their aims included the correlation and support of inter-related projects, the exchange of ideas and methods, the exchange of theoretical and technical ideas in special areas such as biomechanics and histology etc. The purpose also included the recognition by the formation of a society with an annual forum at which papers, reports of work in progress and research methods in related orthopaedic fields would be delivered.

2023 CORS Founders’ Medal Recipient

The CORS Founders Medal was first introduced in 1982 and awarded to the author of the best paper presented at the CORS Annual Meeting. Since that time, a long list of leaders in Canadian research have received the Founders’ Medal in recognition of excellence in science and innovation.

This year’s winner was selected from the Top Canadian Research Session held during the recent CORS meeting held in conjunction with the COA Annual Meeting.

Congratulations are extended to Dr. Matthew Raleigh from the University of Toronto for being awarded the Founders’ Medal for his presentation and research on “Bone Morphogenetic Protein-2 vs Platelet-Derived Growth Factor for the Treatment of Non-Unions.”

Innovation Highlights (CORS Spring 2020 Newsletter)

COVID-19 brings unprecedented challenges to every one of us. We would like to hear from you and share with you stories of how the orthopaedic community is taking action to face the challenges.

Below are a few news articles highlighting Canadian doctors, researchers and industry making PPE face shields using 3D printing technologies:

Dr. Alexandra Bunting, Dr. Andrew Adamczyk, and Dr. Marie-Claude Magnan in Ottawa, in collaboration with Dr. Hanspeter Frei at Carleton University, get proactive about PPE shortage. 3D-printing doc gets proactive about PPE (CBC May 4, 2020): read the article here.

Burloak Technologies Partners with Mohawk College & NGen to Produce Face Shields for Healthcare Workers (April 15, 2020): read the article here.

University of Waterloo uses 3D printing to help protect front-line medical workers (March 30, 2020): read the article here.


Read the latest updates.

Contact CORS (Research)

The Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS)
4060 St. Catherine West, Suite 318C
Westmount, QC H3Z 2Z3

Tel: 514 874-9003 x 7