The Canadian Arthroplasty Society was formed to address the growing awareness in this country for a dedicated and focused group of orthopaedic surgeons to formally meet and exchange ideas and experiences in hip and knee arthroplasty. This conference provides an ideal opportunity to highlight the challenges and successes in this always fascinating area to advance the science of arthroplasty.


Significant interest was demonstrated for an arthroplasty society to be formed in Canada back in 2005 when a group of approximately 30 surgeons met previously at the COA Annual Meeting in Montreal, but there was insufficient momentum to carry the initiative forward. In January 2011, Drs. Steven MacDonald and Emil Schemitsch took the initiative to organize a formative meeting to discuss the development of the Canadian Orthopaedic Arthroplasty Society (COAS) with a group of 14 surgeons from across Canada and the COA CEO at the time, Doug Thomson. Thus, the COAS was formed on January 21, 2011.  In 2012, the society adopted a new name, the Canadian Arthroplasty Society (CAS), and introduced its new logo at the inaugural meeting held on November 15 & 16 at the Hilton hotel in London, Ontario.

To learn more about the early days of the Canadian Arthroplasty Society, read the Summer 2011 COA Bulletin article written by CAS member and Past-President, Michael J. Dunbar, M.D., FRCSC, PhD (Halifax, NS).

Contact Arthroplasty (CAS)

Email: cas@canorth.org

The Canadian Arthroplasty Society (CAS)
C/O The Canadian Orthopaedic Association
4060 St. Catherine West, Suite 318C
Westmount, QC H3Z 2Z3